Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi ABF

Hi all

Newbie here to the intricate world of knives and all their associated goodies. Currently here doing some research one what to purchase for my first knife, so go easy on a novice.

Cheers

G'day twenty, research is a good start for your first knife purchase, ........that leads to research on your second knife purchase,..........that leads to research on your third knife purchase...............................

Comment

Welcome. Careful mate, it's addictive.

I started out a few years ago just wanting a good knife with which to go camping/hiking. Many blades and many, many dollars later, I haven't even scratched the surface.
      I'm normally not a praying man, but if you're up there, please save me Superman: Homer J Simpson.

Comment

Welcome to ABF twenty

There are lots of great knives but I'll be a devil's advocate and suggest an Opinel #8 in carbon steel. This will educate you into a knife's primary function - slicing things. It will teach you more about the useful aspects of a knife than just about any other blade I know, and being a folder you can carry it in a pocket or pack with no hassles.

Why a carbon steel Opinel? You will find the thin blade and convex edge very easy to keep ultrasharp using anything from a kitchen steel to a 2000 grit Japanese waterstone. This is a very forgiving blade. yes it will discolour, and if you don't look after it - rust.

As you progress down the slippery road of knife addiction you will add other blades to your inventory, but I don't think you will ever lose your appreciation of the effectively simple Opinel

You should be able to get an Opinel #8 for $15-25
        Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want

Comment

Watch out twenty, the Opinels come with a spotty bandana.
          Welcome to the forum.
          I have a number 8 in stainless, It's a very useful knife.

Comment

Welcome twenty! We look forward to your company!